Chernobyl Radiation

Chernobyl Radiation Map

The Chornobyl Radiation map allows you to plan you rafting trip safely, avoiding the territories polluted by the Chornobyl disaster. Areas which suffered the greatest degree of radiation pollution are in the Northern part of Ukraine. Lands in bordering Belarus and the Russian Federation also had significant radioactive fallout. Rafting is not recommended in some Ukrainian rivers such as the Sluch, Ubort, Irsha, Uzh and Teteriv because of radioactive contamination.

As the Chornobyl Radiation Map shows, currently (and for the next decade) the most dangerous isotopes from the Chornobyl disaster are strontium and caesium. The highest concentration of caesium-137 is found in surface soil where plants and fungi easily absorb it.

Radioactive contamination of the soil will continue to increase until 2060. The world hasn’t seen the worst of all Chornobyl contamination. For example, in 2086 the alpha activity of soil polluted with plutonium will be 2.4 times higher than it was in the initial post-catastrophe period.

Radioactive contamination levels in agricultural areas have decreased significantly, but in some regions the quantity of caesium found in milk may still exceed the normal level. As the map shows, this is a concern in the Zhytomyr and Rivne regions of Ukraine, the Gomel and Mogilev regions of Belarus and the Bryansk region of the Russian Federation.

Forests have suffered terribly because their ecosystems constantly recycle caesium so the level of contamination in forest products, such as mushrooms, berries and game, is still dangerous.

Contamination of rivers and most lakes is now considered to be low. Nonetheless, lakes which do not have significant runoff are still closed because the concentration of caesium remains high in the water and fish.

Radioactive contamination was not limited to the 30-kilometer zone surrounding the Chornobyl Atomic Power Plant. Increased levels of caesium-137 in lichen and reindeer meat were also seen in the arctic areas of Russia, Finland, Norway and Sweden.